Full Schedule

  • Monday, June 27th
  • Tuesday, June 28th
  • Wednesday, June 29th
  • Thursday, June 30th
  • Friday, July 1st

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Room tba. Find more information here.

Welcome Reception for all participants. Room tba.

Ann Light
Professor of Design and Creative Technology, University of Sussex, UK
Professor of Interaction Design, Social Change and Sustainability at Malmö University, Sweden

 

Remaking Networked Economies: Visions, Collaborations and Modest Transformations
Digital networks, big data and AI are the latest infrastructural tools of abstraction, coinciding with climate collapse, but not incidental to how it unfolds. With such powerful technology, the reach is global, but planetary does not mean Earth-centric or inclusive. If we could pause (or even rewind) the world, what qualities might we choose for our infrastructures? What cultures might we want to cultivate? And who (and what) should be included when “we” seek answers? My ambition is to learn from glimpses of diverse eco-social futures about possible alternative socio-technical choices. I offer some provocations, drawn from research into community organization and sharing, speculative design, social justice and how creative practices support transformation. My suggestions are modest, not just because my questions are too big to answer, but because I believe the most promising planetary transformations are to be found in work that connects but cannot scale.

 

 

Take the time to get to know other participants

Session Chair: Francisco Nunes


The tension between national and local concerns in preparing for large-scale generic systems in healthcare
Authors: Gunnar Ellingsen, Morten Hertzum, Line Melby
Paper Type: Journal

 

Coupling documentation and communication practices to support integrated care pathways
Authors: Rahma Marref, Khuloud Abou Amsha, Myriam Lewkowicz
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

 

Toward an AI-assisted Assessment Tool to Support Online Art Therapy Practices: A Pilot Study
Authors: Woosuk Seo, Joonyoung Jun, Minki Chun, Hyeonhak Jeong, Sungmin Na, Woohyun Cho, Saeri Kim, Hyunggu Jung
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

 

Toward Supporting the Mental Health of Underprivileged Youth Through Village-Driven Sociotechnical Systems
Authors: Jina Huh-Yoo, Meredith Montgomery, Rishabh Matta, Heejun Kim, Brian Daly
Paper Type: Note

 

 

Session Chair: Naja L. Holten Møller


Shall I describe it or shall i move closer? Verbal references and locomotion in VR collaborative search tasks.
Authors: Riccardo Bovo, Daniele Giunchi, Enrico Costanza, Antony Steed, Thomas Heinis
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

 

Connectedness in mobile families
Authors: Mareike Glöss
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

 

Redesigning systems for Single-Pilot Operations: the mutual awareness problem for remote crews
Authors: Maxime Bardou, Catherine Letondal, Jean-Paul Imbert, Mickaël Causse, Maxence Bidegaimberry, Romane Dubus
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

 

Toward Trauma-Informed Design of Behavioral Interventions: A Case Study on Classroom Management
Authors: Gabriela Marcu
Paper Type: Note

Enjoy your Lunch

Session Chair:Christiane Grünloh

 

How Live Streaming Changes Shopping Decisions in E-commerce: A Study of Live Streaming Commerce
Authors: Ye Wang, Zhicong Lu, Peng Cao, Jingyi Chu, Haonan Wang, Roger Wattenhofer
Paper Type: Journal

Between a rock and a hard place: Negotiating Dependencies and Precarity in the On-Demand Economy
Authors: Srihari Hulikal Muralidhar, Claus Bossen, Jacki O'Neill
Paper Type: Journal

Regional Differences in Information Privacy Concerns After the Facebook-Cambridge Analytica Data Scandal.
Authors: Felipe González-Pizarro, Andrea Figueroa, Claudia López, Cecilia Aragon
Paper Type: Journal

Causal Impact Model to Evaluate the Diffusion Effect of Social Media Campaigns
Authors: Xinchen Yu, Afra Mashhadi, Jeremy Boy, Rene Clausen Nielsen, Lingzi Hong
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

Enjoy good coffee and talks

TBA

TBA

Session Chair: Thomas Ludwig

Comparing different qualitative methods to understand user experience in Saudi Arabia
Authors: Aisha Alarfaj, Ellis Solaiman
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

Blending Practices to Facilitate Grounded Design Research: A Praxeological Research Perspective
Authors: Hussain Abid Syed, Marén Schorch, Aparecido Fabiano Pinatti de Carvalho, Philipp Rutz
Paper Type: Note

Pictorial Consent: Fieldwork Reflections
Authors: Manika Saha, Tom Bartindale, Sharifa Sultana, Gillian Oliver, Shakuntala Haraksingh Thilsted, Syed Ishtiaque Ahmed, Patrick Olivier
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

The Role of Boundary Objects in Platformization Practices: A Case Study of Software Testing
Authors: Nora Othilie Ringdal, Babak Amin Farshchian
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

Session Chair: Claudio Lopez

 

Humor and Stereotypes in Computing: An Equity-focused Approach to Institutional Accountability
Authors: Valeria Borsotti, Pernille Bjørn
Paper Type: Journal

 

Deconstructing Gender in Asylum Categories: An Archival Perspective on a Practice with Limited Access
Authors: Kristin Kaltenhäuser, Tijs Slaats, Thomas Gammeltoft-Hansen, Naja Holten Møller
Paper Type: Note

 

Travelling Artefacts: Lessons Learned from Interventions in a Regional Innovation Ecosystem
Authors: Max Krüger, Marc Gerbracht, Nico Vitt, Muhamed Kudic, Michael Ahmadi, Alexander Boden, Felicitas Offergeld, Martin Stein
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

Context-based Automated Responses of Unavailability in Mobile Messaging

Authors: Pranut Jain, Rosta Farzan, Adam J. Lee

Paper Type: Journal Paper

 

Brokerbot: A Cryptocurrency Chatbot in the Social-technical Gap of Trust

Authors: Minha Lee, Lily Frank, Wijnand Ijsselsteijn

Paper Type: Journal Paper

 

Streaming your Identity: Navigating the Presentation of Gender and Sexuality through Live Streaming

Authors: Guo Freeman, Donghee Yvette Wohn

Paper Type: Journal Paper

 

The Problem of Majority Voting in Crowdsourcing with Binary Classes

Authors: Joni Salminen, Ahmed Mohamed Kamel, Soon-Gyo Jung, Bernard Jansen

Paper Type: Note

 

Chairs: Adriana Santarosa Vivacqua

 

Time Zones: 

Zürich, Switzerland 17:30 CEST 
Pacific Time 08:30 PDT 
Central Time 10:30 CDT 
Eastern Time 11:30 EDT 
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 12:30 BRT 
London, United Kingdom 16:30 BST 
Moscow, Russia 18:30 MSK 
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 19:30 GST 
Mumbai, India 21:00 IST 
Singapore, Singapore 23:30 SGT 
Tokyo, Japan 00:30 JST 
Sydney, Australia 01:30 AEST

Doing Research in Complex Interwoven Research Engagements

Enjoy your Lunch

Session Chair: Jorge Cardoso

 

Examining Co-Owners’ Privacy Consideration in Collaborative Photo Sharing
Authors: Yao Li, Xinning Gui
Paper Type: Journal

 

Understanding Matchmakers’ Experiences, Principles and Practices of Assembling Innovation Teams
Authors: Sami Koivunen, Ekaterina Olshannikova, Thomas Olsson
Paper Type: Journal

 

The March of Chatbots into Recruitment: Recruiters' Experiences, Expectations, and Design Opportunities
Authors: Sami Koivunen, Saara Ala-Luopa, Thomas Olsson, Arja Haapakorpi
Paper Type: Journal

 

I think "Hedging" could be a Feminist Issue in Software Engineering
Authors: Alice Ashcroft
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

Enjoy your coffee

TBA

TBA

TBA

Carlos Boto
Co-founder of doDOC

 

Unlocking enterprise collaboration to define a new era for documentation
doDOC has turned the tables for medical and scientific documentation. With a collaborative editor that enables writers and reviewers to work on a single source of truth, with real-time updates and total access control, doDOC helps save 70% of the time needed to produce medical and scientific content. Explore the entrepreneurial path from the initial frustration of the founders with common editors until becoming a pharma-industry leading solution for document collaboration around documents.

Session Chair: Licínio Roque

Inverted Hierarchies on the Shop Floor: The Organisational Layer of Workarounds for Collaboration in the Metal Industry
Authors: Frauke Mörike
Paper Type: Journal

Enterprise Collaboration Platforms Configurations: an Empirical Study
Authors: Petra Schubert, Susan P. Williams
Paper Type: Note

The potential of a digital twin to design computational coordination mechanisms. The case of the French railway infrastructure
Authors: Corentin Stalder, Myriam Lewkowicz, Guillaume Ducellier
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

The Design Multiple: Sharedness and Multiplicity in Common Information Space
Authors: Itishree Mohallick, Eric Monteiro, Thomas Østerlie
Paper Type: Exploratory Paper

TBA

Skip to content